Slaney HandCraft

Patchwork Quilt Making and Sewing

postcard-3

Postcard for March

It’s time to make a new postcard quilt again for the Japanese quilters online community. Last time I made a poinsettia card . This time theme is yo-yo quilt. I actually never made yo-yo quilt before. So good to do something new!

I often see people using yo-yo quilt as flowers that went straight out of my head as a design choice. I love them but I want to be different :) Yo-yo quilt is a circle shape unless you have some Clover’s special template to make heart shape or oval or something else. I don’t. Circle shape to make something interesting then.

First, cutting fabric to one inch circles. That’s my iron’s cord by the way.postcard-5

One made. Template, before and after stitching. Yep my yo-yos are a half inchespostcard-4

Now there are seven.postcard-3

Stitched on the fabric with tiny metallic beads in the centre.

postcard-2

Done! It’s “Big Dipper” or “Plough” or ” Great Bear”  or whatever you call.

postcard

Big dipper

I just simply added constellation lines on it since the background is busy already. What do you think?

You can see other ladies postcard here. Yep all in Japanese.

Author: Tomomi McElweee

Hi! I am sewing almost everyday making big quilts and small bags. A Japanese living in country side of Ireland. Watch me and my studio grow.

Comments are closed.

Daily Japanese Textile

365 days of Japanese textiles for 2014

GARDEN OF EADY

Bring new life to your garden!

Liz's Longarm Quilts and custom made quilts

Whatever your quilting needs are I have the solution!

SusieDDesigns' Blog

Sewing, crafting, inspiration...

New Traditions Design Studio

Making old ideas fresh again!

CAROLYN'S SHADE GARDENS

THE JOY OF GARDENING IN THE SHADOWS

T E Z U K U R I

H A N D M A D E . I M P E R F E C T

The Ardent Thread

A love for both the common fiber and the extraordinary textile - Blog of KimonoMomo

The Inbox Jaunt

Quilts. Photography. Family.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 293 other followers

