Free motion quilting

I love free motion quilting at last. It took a very long time for me to say that comfortably.

It was unknown, unseen, uncommon around Ireland until very recently and the process is a bit intimidating to do. But after years of practice and getting very friendly with my sewing machine, I am happy with my free motion quilting now 🙂

 

I do block quilting that means I quilt according to the fabric I pieced together( sewn together in other words). The inspiration comes from the fabric I use, overall image of quilt or just just something nice. Google a lot. A LOT. When I find what I want I make sure I can doodle that image otherwise I can’t draw with sewing machine and that doodle has to be done one continuous line. Non geometric design is better because I can be imperfect!

For the latest cot quilt I used a lot of cute girly prints. As a result I decided to draw flowers.

First I mark a little circle.

Image

 

Well… I know you can’t quite see that marked circle here.  Anyway, so I stitched the circle-ish first to make sure I know where I am going with stitches and stitched flowers around it.

Image

One done.

Image

Image

Image

And done with extra circle in the middle. Some lines are bit wobbly but that’s doodling.

Hopefully I can take some over all photo of this quilt to show you tomorrow.

Good night!!

 

3 thoughts on “Free motion quilting

  1. Pingback: Quilting Class….Fractured quilt block | Barnswallow Quilt Guild

Leave a Reply

