Christmas table runner

Already 9th of December. How did it happened… It flew because I was busy setting up with my friends the pop up shop “Carlow Made“, teaching at Leighlinbridge and still sorting a lot of stuff after moving house which is a far far away from finishing. And also I was making a Christmas table runner for a Modern Irish Quilters swap.

I sighed up the swap straight away when it was announced with full of enthusiasm.  Then looked into my fabric stash, only to find I didn’t have any modern Christmas prints for the project. Rushed to the online shops just a few days before we moved the house hoping I get them in the new house which happened successfully!! I love all the colour and cute animals.

fabric choice

fabric choice

But I choose to use only the bird one, turquoise with animal print, green one and red snowflake one. That meant I needed more fabric. Off to the local shop to get white and pale blue fabrics in the hope of they have the right one!

Starting to make a shape at last

Starting to make a shape at last

Pieced and appliqued and the top was done.

Finished top

Finished top

Quilting was done as outlines of trees and bubbles at first and to add more shape to red snowflakes. I quilted with white thread on white middle part with copying animals from the bubbles and swirls to continuing quilting as one line.  There is one bambi in a bubble which I could not copy though.

Quilted rabbit

Quilted rabbit

Quilting continued with red thread in between birds on the lines. Some got bit fat and some got bit well ugly. I think that adds some character to the table runner.

Little birdies

Little birdies

At very last I quilted with snowflake shapes on the blue border.

Border with snowflaks

Border with snowflakes

It’s finished and wrapped to be posted to my secret swap partner. I hope she likes it 🙂

And I finally found excuse to make this! It’s going to her with the table runner.

Fabric star

Fabric star

Happy Christmas if I don’t blog again.

Leave a Reply

