Scraps!

How big is your box(es) of scrap fabric? And when do you call them a scrap? 5″ or 1″?

I put the fabric into the scrap box when they are smaller than 2″ or very little left of same material. And they stay there until rediscovered for the good use or to go to the bin because It’s less than  a half inch (seam allowances needs a half inch). Then me thinking if I use it for the raw edge applique, they might be still big enough so I might put it back in the box just in case…. Very bad habit of me. Some Japanese friend told me if you can wrap three small azuki beans with it, you should keep that scrap. I have no idea how big that is maybe I should check them next time when I cook them.

Anyway, my scrap boxes are not so big I think. Or I just don’t admit some of them as scraps. Three chocolate box size boxes I have for them. One for white/black/pale ones, one for blue/green and one for red/orange/bright yellow.

Sarah of Fairly Face Designs suggested to have “Put Your Scraps to Work 2014” link ins. So here are photos of my scraps on January!

This one is made for Ruth as a part of Irish modern quilting bee. 1″ square scraps.

Image

Then this pot holder. A 1/4″ strips of spool.

Image

And very quick wonky log cabin for free motion quilting photo shoot! Actually the photo didn’t show exactly what I was doing since it wasn’t a video. Ha-ha. I started with leaf shape in the middle and got bit bored. Changed it into some kind of fish.

Image

I think I am going to make this one to a coin purse soon.

Oh my work in progress stained glass quilt has used up some of my scraps too. I love scraps 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Scraps!

  1. I keep a shoe box of scraps and put bits in there that are too fiddly to store with my big bits. Occasionally I rummage through for a log cabin project but one day the whole box will probably go off to kindergarten. I save cotton reels and ends of ribbon too as I remember what treasured resources those items can be for a crafty child.

  2. I keep a shoe box of scraps and put bits in there that are too fiddly to store with my big bits. Occasionally I rummage through for a log cabin project but one day the whole box will probably go off to kindergarten. I save cotton reels and ends of ribbon too as I remember what treasured resources those items can be for a crafty child.

  3. Log cabin is a good project to use up a lot of scraps, isn’t it. I do put them away now and then but I have to close my eyes to do so 😉 I agree with you everything has some use for somebody!

  4. At the moment I am still filling my scrap boxes. They are sorted by color. I think by the end of this year I shall start working on a scrappy quilt – trip around the world. And possibly finish by 2015! Greetings from Spain, Barbora

Leave a Reply

