Boro bag

The Japanese word “Boro” means ragged, worn out, broken, things finished. But poor peasant Japanese patched Boro fabric over and Sashiko stitched to keep them together and make it durable and warm. Well actually I am not an expert of Japanese sewing culture. If you are interested, hop over here, it’s a great reading.

Last year browsing around the net, I came across this tutorial of quilt as you go project. Not just quilt as you go of log cabin block but a lot of quilting. That looked good. I made some pouches with this method but not quite look good as I hoped. I like them and heavy quilting gave great structure for the purse. I think this works better with super modern prints.purse 05

Then one day penny dropped.

I bought some Kimono fabric remnants from the Japanese factory some years ago. I used them for myself but there is a bit of problem with these fabrics. They are traditionally woven and very loose. Needed Sashiko stitch….. heavy quilting! So I started making small bags. Last week I got a special custom order of this bag which is a bit bigger.

Most of kimono fabric I have is indigo which is typical Japanese. But some are more bright like this one persimmon orange.  Most difficult bit at this first stage is putting it straight to the bag pattern.

The very first piece of fabric.

The very first piece of fabric.

Can you see the thread I used? I had this thread which changes colour from blue to red to green. I didn’t know what to do with this thread until I started Sashiko on plain indigo fabric. It adds texture, colour and pattern! Great!

One quarter of bag/ one log cabin done.

finished one log cabin

finished one log cabin

And one half done. I started the second log cabin with fresh green fabric.

Half way there

Half way there

And done the hard work!

Finished!

Finished!

Now the easy bit, making it into a bag. Cut the quilt in the shape and made the lining with a pocket and handles.

Bag parts

Bag parts

It looks like a bag now. Sides and bottom to be stitched together.

looks like a bag now.

looks like a bag now.

And done 🙂

KODAK Digital Still Camera

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Now it is not a Boro bag, it’s a beautiful patchwork quilt bag don’t you think? But I call it a Boro bag as a style of it. Scrap busting as well!

 

Liking up to Fairy Face Design’s Put Your Scraps to Work 2014!

FairyFace Designs

Leave a Reply

