Brick wall quilt

I had planned to make this quilt last summer actually and finally got around to make it!

KODAK Digital Still Camera

What is very unusual about this quilt for me is, it is not a scrap quilt (Scrap quilts mean mix and match of all sort of fabric). Just two different fabrics I used for this quilt. One is blue fennel seed head print on white and the other is brown butterfly print.

This blue and white fabric’s print is very large so I needed it to be used as large pieces, 10″ by 6″ in this case. I thought using white fabric for the brick joints but the white background of the main fabric is not white white but a little bit cream… If I use white fabric that makes main fabric dirty…. That blue has got a little bit of teal which I always find difficult one to pick right complimentary colour. After spending a good long hour in the fabric shop I decided this brown fabric is the best. And those little butterfly print go well with flower print of main fabric.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Quilting… This quilt is supposed to be a cool city, modern, grown up quilt. First I thought quilting with graffiti drawings like the ones on a wall. But that would be a bit too far so I quilted with weeds growing on the wall!

All weeds are growing from the bottom of quilt to the top. Ones look like ferns and others are a bit like fennel seed head. None are representing weeds in our garden, just imaginary motifs. I quilted with variegated green thread. That was fun!

KODAK Digital Still Camera

KODAK Digital Still Camera

The backing is leaf motif print on aquamarine/deep blue and a khaki fabric. They are very gorgeous fabric on their own.KODAK Digital Still Camera

The border was quilted with ivy leaf motifs spreading all over. I love quilting with plant motifs:)

This quilt is available from my Etsy shop. It’s 48″ by 52″, lap quilt size also a good size to be spread over a two seat couch/sofa.

Enjoy your weekend! I’m off to the garden!

 

2 thoughts on “Brick wall quilt

  1. Beautiful quilt I wish I could get to your class still busy with dogs and garden family arriving soon from Australia and Switzerland so Ltd all go..

Leave a Reply

