Feather quilt

So I was bubbling about making a quilt with feather design.

Here is what I made.

While I was drawing the feather, the idea of zentangle for the quilting hovered over me. I never learned zentangle, just looking at them through Pinterest so you can call it just doodling quilting.

rough drawing idea.

rough drawing idea

Appliquéd feather

Appliqued feather

I chose blue colour for this feather.

outline stitched

outline stitched

Added red stem.

The border added.

The border added.

The main part has been quilted

The main part has been quilted

Little bit more close up

Little bit of close up

From the backing side

From the backing side

The border was quilted feather motif.

The border was quilted feather motif.

The feather quilt

The feather quilt

I should make the stem much longer, quilting on the feather should be more bold and poke out the applique line and I want make it much bigger!

Despite saying above all, I do like this quilt. It’s a small wall hanging, 18.5″ by 13″.

This story will continue 🙂

3 thoughts on “Feather quilt

  1. Pingback: The feather quilt take two! | Slaney HandCraft

Leave a Reply

