Hunter’s star quilt top

I was thinking about making “hunter’s star” quilt for a while. There is so many variation of hunter’s star blocks, did you know that?

Some blocks have skinny trapeziums and small stars which is more dramatic and some are made with just two different fabric which I actually wanted to make but maybe next time.

You can make it in any size you want if you make templates or paper piece them(see here). I don’t really like making templates and preparing for paper piecing takes too much extra time not sewing. So I draw the shape on PC and did a bit of math (well actually drawings bring the math result very quickly). Finished size of my blocks are 12″ 1/4, because I wanted the bigger triangle to be 4″ finished and trapeziums to be 1″ 1/2 tall which made one of four blocks to be 6″ 1/8 finished. Very unusual size but fine because there is just me making them.

I had had to cut out one template which is the smaller trapezium. I can cope with using just one template! I had cut fabric very very carefully(because there are no template) and piece them together carefully(because no paper piecing) but they came together perfectly. Phew!

the first block

the first block

Now you can see I have a bit of plan for the star placing. Four blocks later….

Four blocks together

Four blocks together

Then came to think about what kind of border to be added. I wanted show the yellow stars properly. So bit more math later…

Finished top

Finished top

The whole thing has come to be very Christmassy look unintentionally.

By the way there is one silly mistake I made. I should put white triangle and white trapezium together not with pale olive one. It actually doesn’t matter for this quilt since I used same fabric for making each star. It looks very busy, isn’t it.

I might make hunter’s star blocks with smaller star next time.

