A green and yellow table runner

I made this Chrsitmas table runner a few weeks ago, do you remember?

christmas table runner by slaney handcraft

This pattern looks nice with non Christmas fabric especially if it is made to be argyle design. I wanted to make it with much modern colour scheme too. Off I went look through fabrics I have. Hmmm.

I had Oakshott cotton fat eights bundle in green and yellow colour. They are beautifully made thin soft woven cotton fabric. They use very subtle gentle colour and each colour is slightly different by changing thread woven together. Somehow they remind me Japanese cotton fabric. And most importantly they are just lovely 🙂

Since I had only fat eights of each that’s a half of fat quarter 9″ by 22″, I can only get three 2 1/2″ strips from each colour. I needed a bit of re-organising the pattern for that.

After sewing, changing the placement of some, and sewing again, I finish the top. Two slightly different tan were most difficult for me to decide where to go. I might do differently if I do it again.table runner by slaneyhandcraft

For quilting, I started on the burgundy bit first with straight parallel lines. Then proceeded to the middle with some free motion pattern. But that didn’t look great with these squares. Just looked unnecessarily busy and messy. So quilting had been done with a lot of straight lines with different angle. I am very happy with it, very clean and simple bit Art deco, perhaps?

table runner by slaneyhandcraft

The border was quilted with free motions in two different sections.

table runner by slanyehandcraft

I added a half inch wide binding to this table runner which brings everything together better than a skinny a quarter inch bindings. Then I noticed I use more and more of non matching binding these days, is that a phase or it is going to be like this for ever?

By the way, the backing is deep sky blue with a bit of pattern. It gives complete different atmosphere if you put this blue side up.

table runner by slaney handcraft

It’s a very Oriental, calm coloured table runner. Of course it can be placed anywhere you like, window sill, chest drawer, bed or wall.

Size : 21.5″ W by 69″ L, 54.5cm W by 175cm L

Available from my Etsy shop.

tablerunner by slaneyhandcraft

 

Leave a Reply

