the 2014 Bloggers Quilt Festival

I saw this happening before and saw this happening right now. So I decided to jump in!

I am entering this quilt to the Home Machine Quilted Quilts category. (If you have read my blog about this quilt, you don’t have to read again.)

Wall hanging. Appliqué, machine stitched, machine quilted.

Whatever the reason, I wanted make a quilt with a feather motif. The paper piecing, strip piecing didn’t appeal to me so I went for the applique.

I made a trial version in very small first. That made me wanting to make a bigger bolder one because I wanted show more of fabric in each section and wanted play with quilting more.

I doodled a lot on this quilt on the feather and background.

detail of the top

detail of the top

Detail of the middle

Detail of the middle

detail of the base

detail of the base

KODAK Digital Still Camera

This is the start of doodle, three little lollipops.

This is the start of doodle, three little lollipops.

Dandelions

Dandelions

Big leaves

Big leaves

Some feather and

Some feather and

A lot of motifs on the background. Leaves, trees, feathers, flowers, pebbles.

And on the border they are more decorative like a picture flame.

Art deco rose and leaves

Art deco rose and leaves

Decorative quilting on the border

Decorative quilting on the border

 

Threads used on the feather and border are variegated colour and on the background is white.

 

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoy the rest of festival!

14 thoughts on “the 2014 Bloggers Quilt Festival

Leave a Reply

