Modern Irish quilting bee – November

Since I was the hive mama for the October, I almost forgot I had to make blocks for the November 😛

November’s hive mama is Anna for the second time. The first time we made crazy quilt with fussy cut which I moaned tried very hard to be good.

This time it’s much easier because these are structured blocks, ” Circle of friends“. I enjoyed cutting fabric to the size and sewing them together again. No worrying about fabric is big enough or too scrappy or….

Here are the two blocks. I tried to make them like colour wheels but didn’t go quite so.circle of friends 02 Circle of friends 01

 

Last week I went Waterford to buy new sewing machine, Janome 1600P QC(I haven’t taken any proper photo of it yet)! These blocks are the first work I used this new machine so I needed to find perfect 1/4″ seam allowance first because the marking on the plate is not in a convenient place( since Japanese use metric system).

With a bit of adjustment of cloth guide, everything was perfectly in place. This machine sews straight line very easily and doesn’t mind going over lumps of seam allowance.  The pedal gives very smooth speed control and I can carry on about it but I will do it another time with some proper picture.

There is only one more month for the Modern Irish quilting bee and I won’t make christmas madness get in the way!

8 thoughts on “Modern Irish quilting bee – November

  1. I am looking forward to joining the new bee. Will someone send out a message to let people know they can join? I loved doing these in America.

Leave a Reply

