Christmas cushion cover

For the last few days I was making this Christmas themed cushion cover.
I joined the Christmas cushion cover swap organized by Modern quilters Ireland. I can’t tell who I am going to send this cushion cover but hopefully she likes it.

Once I made a design for the top, it made into a shape very quickly.

top without applique

top without applique

The christmas trees are foundation pieced. I just wanted use that grey christmas print( below the trees) because it is so pretty!

For the top half, I was going to make it as one plain white and appliqué snow flakes. Then it looked very boring. So I added three a half inch strips.

top with applique

top with applique

Four snow flakes are glued and it was ready for quilting.

snow flakes

snow flakes

some baubles

some baubles

I love my new sewing machine! So easy to control when doing free motion quilting!

This morning as I finished quilting, it was very sunny and the sun was very low and it made this very interesting long shadow for photograghs.

quilting

quilting

chrsitmas cushion by slaney handcraft

with holly leaves

holly leaves on border

I used this fabric for the backing. It has gold print says “merry christmas” all over. I can’t remember why I bought it but I had a difficulty using it since 1) it’s directional, 2) the print is in line, 3) it’s seasonal. Now I just decided to use it up since it is a Christmas cushion and it will be inside the cover which can’t be seen.

back of the quilting

back of the quilting

This cushion cover is for the 18″ cushion filler. I started it that in my mind very well but somewhere along the way I lost it and ended up with 22″ cushion cover(I think I was going to add only one round of squares outside but somehow added two but can’t remember exactly). I didn’t cut the extra bits off. I left it but stitched around 18″ square for the filler to fit nicely.

finished cushion

finished cushion

chrsitmas cushion by slaney handcraft

chrsitmas cushion by slaney handcraft

It’s a envelope cushion, I made the back with flurry in grass green from Dashwood studio. It’s a nice fresh green but Christmas themed still, I think.

back of the cushion

back of the cushion

2 thoughts on “Christmas cushion cover

Leave a Reply

