It’s finished!

I finished quilting on my big quilt of 2015( I know it’s only early March and might be making bigger one later)!

I challenged myself with new sewing machine. New motifs and shapes for the quilt design.

I used one 1000m spool as top thread and quite a bit more of another cone for quilting on the main part which is done in light grey. I lost count of bobbins but probably 10.

My intention of quilting design for this quilt was connecting neighbouring blocks and spreading or spilling out. Some were easy to imagine but others were bit hard.

This quilt will be at the first Modern Quilters Ireland Exhibition which will run from May 25th to June 26th 2015 in St Patrick’s Hospital, Dublin 8. I am so excited to be a part of this exhibition to see all modern quilts from Ireland!

Anyway here are photos!

by Slaney HandCraft

Lightly quilted block

by Slaney HandCraft

Connected to the neighbour.

by Slaney HandCraft

It was difficult what to do with this one but I am happy with result.

It was difficult what to do with this one but I am happy with result.

I love this block

I love this block

This one is the centre piece and hope it dose the job.

This one is the centre piece and hope it dose the job.

by Slaney HandCraft

I love negative space.

by Slaney HandCraft

Straight lines by free motion is not easy. I need to get more attachment for my machine!

Straight lines by free motion is not easy. I need to get more attachment for my machine!

by Slaney HandCraft

Getting comfortable with feather wreath.

Getting comfortable with feather wreath.

I drew bird houses on those red fabric.

I drew bird houses on those red fabric.

by Slaney HandCraftby Slaney HandCraftby Slaney HandCraftby Slaney HandCraft

It was difficult what to do with this one but I am happy with result.

It was difficult what to do with this one but I am happy with result.

I love this block

I love this block

This one is the centre piece and hope it dose the job.

This one is the centre piece and hope it dose the job.

by Slaney HandCraftby Slaney HandCraft

Straight lines by free motion is not easy. I need to get more attachment for my machine!

Straight lines by free motion is not easy. I need to get more attachment for my machine!

I love this block.

I love this block.

by Slaney HandCraftby Slaney HandCraftby Slaney HandCraft

2 thoughts on “It’s finished!

Leave a Reply

