Free motion quilting challenge – October

October came and two third of it gone already. And I finally got around to do my free motion quilting challenge with Quiltshopgal for October!

October’s expert is Lori Kennedy from The Inbox Jaunt! Yahoo! I was so excited when I saw her peek photo of the project a few day before the 1st of October because she is one of my favourite quilting blogger and her quilting idea/design is so pretty. If you can remember I took part of her mystery quilt along at the bigging of this year.

So it’s October and I choose option #1 which is a pumpkin design.

When I saw one of Lori’s sample pumpkin, it reminded me of a sculpture in Naoshima, Japan. It’s a huge pumpkin designed by Yayoi Kusama, Polka dot lady. I thought I can use it for my inspiration and I was certain there is more than one pumpkin but couldn’t find any photos on the net so I googled Zentangle pumpkins instead.

And this is the result. I wanted to do all the challenge with white fabric but since it’s pumpkin and this Carolyn Friendlander’s Doe in Carrot looked so pumpkin, I changed my plan for this month. The thread I used was Aurifil 50wt in yellow orange, 2145. Unfortunately I didn’t have any more vivid colour to much the fabric and not much shop around here to get nice cotton thread!

sketchI decided to put three pumpkins in various size.

outline

You can see better from the back.

outline front reverse side

The background was quilted with spider web, swirls, and leaves.round pumpkin 02 small pupkin 02I made this cushion cover 18″ and bound with Kona black and inserted zipper. The other side of cushion is Doe Carrot too. I hope you can see quilting lines. It was really difficult to photograph!

cushion 02 round pumpkin tall pumpkin small pupkin

And this is my poor pumpkin not getting any bigger! I think it didn’t pollinate since male and female flowers didn’t bloom on same date.

pumpkinHappy Halloween!

4 thoughts on “Free motion quilting challenge – October

  1. Pingback: A medallion quilt | Slaney HandCraft

Leave a Reply

