Landscape

Most of my quilts are designed and made in square or portrait rectangle shapes. Table runners are more of landscape rectangle shape but I don’t really make them with landscape in my mind.

And I wanted make one wall hanging in landscape shape. Well I wanted to something different for me anyway.

What can I make without actually making landscape design. I had some images of Byobu panels/dividers as inspiration.

I sliced up a lot of light coloured fabrics to create vertical lines. They are between 1/2″ and 1  1/2″ finished and 18″ high(I ended up a quite lot of left over and might use for something else).

quilting detail 02

I fuse-appliquéd willow leaves in various colours and added border and quilted.  Sounds simple, isn’t it.

quilting detail 03

quilting detail 06

And I quilted doodle style without any particular plan.

quilting detailquilting detail 01

Except the border. I wanted some sort of style there with quilting.

border detail

And the whole look is like this. Looking through low and wide window? Maybe background is a bamboo forest.

leaf wall hanging

 

It’s 28″ high and 51″ wide.

 

I am bringing this quilt along with others to the exhibition with FORM in Dublin starting next Thursday, 10th. Hope it finds nice place to be displayed.

Form dublin for web.png.

 

3 thoughts on “Landscape

  1. Pingback: Confetti | Slaney HandCraft

Leave a Reply

