Paula’s quilt

Paula made this very pretty quilt top with a Jelly roll pattern and I had got to quilt it! It is 80″ by 86″ and I was feeling very lucky to quilt such a big one without making the top because it brings a huge satisfactory to finish something in that size as well as I don’t have to do precise piecing.

before-quilting

I think the main feature of this quilt is diamond shapes and I wanted to enhance it as well as modify a bit. I started with quilting in ditch on those diagonal lines, outline of largest diamonds.

(Photos below are taken early in the morning purposely so you can see quilting better)

And then I quilted larger white diamonds with circular feather.

quilting-first-sq

And then smaller ones with diamond curves and went back to smallest ones (above) to fill with little flowers.

quilting-second-sq

I quilted straight lines with a strait ruler on prints but it will be nice to fill them too.

The combination of two different quilting made some bigger pattern too.

quilting-detail-01quilting-detail-02

The white border was quilted with swirls and outer border with lollipop flower which goes well with print, I think.

border

A view from the other side.

reverse-side

Thank you Paula for letting me have fun!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Paula’s quilt

  1. Your quilting is stunning, Tomomi! Paula made a nice job with beautiful spring colors and I think she will like how you brought it to life.

  2. Congratulations on your wonderful quilting. Paula made a great job with the patchwork top, but the the quilting just magnified the beauty of the quilt design.

Leave a Reply

