New York Beauty Quilt

Irish Patchwork Society members were asked to make quilts inspired by the New York Beauty block for up coming Festival of Quilt exhibition. And I made one to submit for the selection.

The New York Beauty block can be made any size and with any points. Drafting this block on a drawing program is very easy and quick and I made up them to fit in a size, 10″ by 14″.

Traditionally this block is made of quarter circles but since I knew I was going to appliqué them on the base fabric, I made them as long as I needed. All spikes were foundation paper pieced.

first

The first one and second were appliquéd together.

And then all four of them were hand appliquéd in improvised way. Well I had rough idea of where they were going but no measurement was involved at this stage.

pieced

I left all the overhanging as they were when I quilted because I knew it would shrink certain amount and I had to trim it anyway.

quilted

I started quilting on the background. All medallion style free motion. Yep, I made up all as I went for five hours or so.

It was trimmed and facing was added to finish the edge. I really like facing especially when I make improvised ones because finding a right fabric for binding is very tricky!

detail-02

Those pink spikes were last place to be quilted.

detail-03

Little bit of intertwine.

detail-04

My camera can’t quite focus on those fuzzy looking prints….

I don’t know if I ever make anything big with this much of details but small and complicated are one of favourite. Is that a Japanese thing?

finished

One thought on “New York Beauty Quilt

Leave a Reply

