Modern Irish Quilting Bee February

Gosh time flies. 18th of February already? Only ten days to March? I must getting old…

But I have made my February blocks for the Modern Irish Quilting Bee. This month’s hive mama is Cindy of Fluffy Sheep quilting. Cindy has a lovely shop online which I go for the modern fabric shopping.

Cindy was talking about spool blocks a lot since the beginning of the year which made me wanted to make my own spool block. But this is the real one I had to make ones she wants.

Cindy choose the “Aurifil spool” for us to make. I never even imagined to make Aurifil spools for the blocks. Very very different and so cute. Here is the instruction. To my surprise somebody had already made them.

I had two options for the sizes of blocks and I chose one big, three medium and five small to make.

Cutting Kona red for spool itself and Kona white for the background was easy.

Image

Bit messy sewing table of mine.

Then I realized the how big the big one was. 6″ by 10.5″! I don’t really use big prints and this is ginormous for me. Cindy wanted fabrics for the thread bit to bi monochromatic. I had to deep very deep in my stash box.

Image

Actually I cut the big one wrong at this point so it is not that big.

 And these are the finished blocks.

february-02

 february-04

I posted them to Cindy yesterday afternoon and she got them before lunch time today! Sometime post system here works scary fast!

I am happy to hear she is happy with them :) Now I’m off to my own project.

 

2 thoughts on “Modern Irish Quilting Bee February

  1. Hi Tomomi, I like the way you have made up our Aurifil blocks, they look great. I particularly like the larger print and, as the red ends represent Cotton Mako’ 12 which is the thickest of the threads in the range, it looks just right.
    Jenny

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.